How do you review a prejudice?

… a person usually has two reasons for doing a thing: one that sounds good and a real one.

Okay, so motivational books weren’t exactly my favorites. I ran away from titles that said the book was going to help you change your life, be successful or how to deal with problems. You can’t learn those from books. At least, that was my prejudice.

But what can you do about it when you receive such a book as a gift? I tried not to ignore it. In fact, I picked it up and turned into my next read. It must have been the title that did it. How to win friends and influence people. Exactly.

To answer the question above… I’m not going to review it. I’m going to just post some quotes, like I always do. I leave the reviewing for you: the people I’m going to talk to about it and maybe apply some of the advice that I read on.

Your bad manners are exceeded only by your bad manners.

God himself, sir, does not propose to judge man until the end of his days.

I shall pass this way but once; any good, therefore, that I can do or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer nor neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.

… arouse in the other person an eager want. He who can do this has the whole world with him. He who cannot walks a lonely way.

Actions speak louder than words, and a smile says, “I like you. You make me happy. I am glad to see you.”

We become like that on which our hearts are fixed.

Hatred is never ended by hatred but by love. (Buddha)

You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him to find it within himself. (Galileo)

Be wiser than other people if you can; but do not tell them so. (Lord Chesterfield)

One thing only I know, and that is that I know nothing. (Socrates)

If you want enemies, excel your friends; but if you want friends, let your friends excel you. (La Rochefoucauld)

I have no right to say or do anything that diminishes a man in his own eyes. What matters is not what I think of him, but what he thinks of himself. Hurting a man in his dignity is a crime.

Have your say!

