Day 9 – Project “52 people”

(scroll down for English version)

Pentru că mă caut în continuare, am zis că poate aflu răspunsuri despre viaţă de la tata. Un interviu care cred că a fost mai greu pentru mine decât pentru el, deşi n-aş putea spune exact de ce. Poate pentru că nu vorbim prea des lucruri.

Am început cu aceeaşi întrebare pe care o adresez majorităţii. Mi-a spus că nu ştie să fi vrut să se facă ceva anume când era mic. “Auzi, mami, da’ tu ce ai răspuns la întrebarea asta?” I-am spus să nu trişeze şi să-mi răspunda el la întrebări. A dat la Construcţii pentru că şi sora lui dăduse tot acolo, şi bunicul era acolo… “Erau şi mai multe locuri disponibile.”

Primul job l-a avut când a terminat facultatea. “Lucram la o firmă care monta stâlpii de energie electrică. Eu aveam grijă de şantier.” Asta era prin 1987 şi câştiga puţin peste 100 de dolari la vremea respectivă. A plecat şi în Germania la muncă. “Am plecat să fac bani. Luam 800 de mărci pe lună.” A stat 6 luni, s-a întors, şi cu banii câştigaţi ne-am luat maşină. Știu şi acum că s-a întors cu o pereche de raiaţi albi şi cu adidaşi pentru mine. Mi-am făcut şi o poză, sunt sigură că am dat peste ea odată.

Mi-a povestit cum au cumpărat apartamentul în rate şi cum, după revoluţie totul s-a schimbat. “Inflaţia era atât de mare, salariile creşteau aşa de repede, încât la un moment dat, am reuşit să plătim dintr-un singur salariu tot ce mai rămăsese din rate.”

Din toate ţările pe care le-a vizitat, a făcut un top 3 surprinzător. Locul 1 Austria, 2 Elveţia şi 3 Belgia. La mirarea mea că Spania nu e pe listă, mi-a zis că ar veni pe locul 4.

“ Știi câte cămaşi ai în dulap?”

“Tu ar trebui să ştii, că tu mi le calci!”

Dar a reuşit să aproximeze corect. Are peste 40 cu totul. Le numărasem eu cu o zi înainte.

De când încerc să aflu cu ce echipă de fotbal ţine tata. Asta pentru că se pare că ţine cu toate şi niciuna. “Steaua sau Dinamo?” “Niciuna. CS Târgovişte! (aici e vorba de origini, m-am prins eu!) Acolo e director Gică Popescu.” Yeah, right… Îmi spune mie că nu ţine cu nimeni, dar odată şi odată o să aflu.

L-am pus să aleagă între Toyota şi Mazda, având în vedere că a condus ambele mărci japoneze. “Mazda. Pentru că se pare că e mai bună.”

Iar la întrebarea cu atenţia lumii pentru 30 de secunde… Ei, bine… “Le-aş spune să pună mâna să muncească. Chiar şi în lucruri pentru care nu sunt calificaţi. Să lucreze pământul, cu agricultura nu mori de foame.”

Cam aşa cu tata. Nu se simţea foarte bine, aşa că fotografia e mai degrabă conceptuală şi sper să vă spună multe, aşa cum îmi spune mie.

9

Because I’m still looking for myself, I thought I might get some life answers from my father. An interview which I believe to have been harder for me than for him, even though I can’t say exactly why. Maybe because we don’t often talk stuff.

I started with the same question I put every time. He says he doesn’t think he wanted to become anything when he was a kid. “Hey, mom, how did you answer this one?”. I told him not to cheat and answer my questions on his own. He went for the Technical University for Civil Engineering because his sister also went there and my grandpa was there too (a teacher). “There were also more available spots.”

His first job was, at leaving college, as a site supervisor for a company which mounted energy posts. This was back in 1987 and he earned a little over 100 dollars at the time. He went to work in Germany. “I left to earn more money. I earned 800 marks per month.” He stayed there for 6 months, came back and bought our first car with the money that he had saved. I remember the gifts he brought home for me: some pair of white trousers and some sneakers. I have a picture taken with them that I came across once.

He told me how they bought the apartment in installments and how everything changed after the revolution. “The inflation was through the roof, wages were increasing so fast, that at some point we could pay the rest of the installments from one month’s pay.”

Of all the countries that he’s seen, he did a surprising top 3. Austria comes in first, Switzerland second and Belgium third. I was surprised that Spain wasn’t included, but he said that would come in fourth.

“Do you know how many shirts you have in your closet?”

“You should know, you’re the one ironing them!”

But he did approximate pretty well. He has over 40 shirts in all. I had counted one day before.

I have been trying to find out which Romanian football team my dad cheers for for a while now. And that’s because he seems to be a supporter of all and none at the same time. “Steaua or Dinamo?” “Neither. CS Targoviste! (this is about his origins, I get it!) Their manager is Gica Popescu.” Yeah, right… He says he doesn’t favor any team, but I’ll find out eventually.

I told him to choose between Toyota and Mazda, having driven both Japanese brands. “Mazda. Because, apparently, it is better.”

As for the question regarding the 30 seconds speech towards the whole world… Oh, well… “I’d tell them to work. Even do things they aren’t qualified for. To work the land, you won’t starve from agriculture.”

That’s dad. He wasn’t feeling very well, so the photograph is rather conceptual and I hope it tells you a lot about him, the way it does for me.

 

 

Have your say!

