Inapoi

Dad’s voice in my ear saying “I can’t believe what you’re saying to me right now.”

And I was sitting in the rain, expressionless, looking at was supposed to be my car, now hit by another and lying in what was surely the spot of a recent accident.

After crossing the street, I lost the key to the door downstairs.

I had to be careful how I crossed the street, because I had already seen the gist of what happened, even though it was meters away from the entrance to my block of flats, and it was raining hard and who knows what else might have happened if I didn’t focus.

Yeah, raining, that’s all I needed, one more worry: an umbrella to carry around, when I thought I needed my hands to gesture.

I took the stairs, no wasting time with the elevator.

Remembered to completely lock the door, no matter what.

Got the phone? Always carry the phone even though I go out just to buy some bread. But this wasn’t going to be a “bread errand”. Will my parents believe me, if it’s indeed my car?

Put some shoes, threw some clothes, looked out of the window to check one more time.

Looked out of the window. There were people staring in that direction already. Clearly it was a car accident.

Can’t remember if I heard anything. Must have, otherwise I wouldn’t have gotten up from my chair too soon.

Booked. Yey. Can’t believe I got the chance to do this in the end, after changing my mind a couple of times.

“You have booked to attend THE SCRIPT at The O2 arena, London on FRIDAY 22/03/2013 at 18.30.”

This post was written backwards, in case you hadn’t noticed that already. The title means “backwards” in Romanian. Two separate events last year, two different feelings altogether, same day. Just thought I share this with you, because WordPress gave me the idea to write a story from end to beginning. 

The White Rabbit put on his spectacles. ‘Where shall I begin, please your Majesty?’ he asked.

‘Begin at the beginning,’ the King said gravely, ‘and go on till you come to the end: then stop.’

(Louis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland)

Have your say!

